Distinguished Alumnae Award

The Chatham Hall Distinguished Alumna Award was established in 2010 to recognize distinguished graduates representing diverse professions and interests. The Distinguished Alumna Award recognizes Chatham Hall graduates who embody the characteristics and values of Chatham Hall, such as honor, respect, and integrity.

Anyone may nominate a Chatham Hall alumna for this award. Nominations are currently being accepted until October 15, 2019.

Current Distinguished Alumnae Award Recipients

List of 1 items.

  • Anne Blodget Holberton '69

     Anne began her corporate career in the Marsh McLennon training program, despite never taking a business class in college. Thus began an extensive career of 38 years in the financial services and risk management world. Always a team player, Anne has been described as a “quiet protestor,” an advocate for equal pay and fair treatment for women in the corporate workplace.
    Read More

List of 1 items.

  • Laura Brown Cronin '72

    After graduating from Chatham Hall, Laura earned a B.A. in Mathematics from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and an M.B.A from the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania. She spent her professional career in corporate finance with her first eight years in a variety of financial roles for two different high technology companies. In 1986 she was named Treasurer, Executive Committee Member for Millipore Corporation, a Fortune 1000 company. 
    Read More

Past Distinguished Alumnae Award Recipients

  • 2018 Kathy Reynolds Chandler ’68, Hall of Fame Skier
  • 2018 Helen "Lanie" Zimmerman Hill ’46, Professor
  • 2017 Kate Bulkley ’77, Journalist
  • 2017 Sarah Morris ’72, Archaeologist
  • 2016 Gloria Bond Clunie ’71, playwright
  • 2015 Nina Johnson Botsford ’72, community activist
  • 2014 Polly Wheeler Guth ’44, philanthropist
    • 2014 Povy LaFarge Bigbee ’51, rancher and agriculture
    • 2013 Leila McConnell Daw ’58, artist
    • 2013 Frances “Hallam” Hurt ’63, Neonatologist
    • 2012 Anne L. Bryant ’67, educator
    • 2011 Diane Heiskell Schetky ’57, Forensic Psychiatrist
    • 2010 Elinor R. Greene II ’70, minister
    • 2010 Penelope Perkins Wilson ’41, philanthropist

    Other Alumnae Awards

    List of 4 items.

    • Boyce Lineberger Award

      The Boyce Linberger Award is given each year during the Alumnae Association annual meeting to an alumna who exerts a longstanding influence on the affairs of Chatham Hall.
    • Ellie MacVeagh Award

      The Ellie MacVeagh Award is given at the Alumnae Association annual meeting to an alumna who best represents the School’s goals for fellow constituents.
    • Mildred Harrison Dent Award

      The Mildred Harrison Dent Award is given each year during the Alumnae Association annual meeting to an alumna who demonstrates an enthusiastic long-term commitment and devotion to the ideals of Chatham Hall.
    • Nancy Gwathmey Award

      The Nancy Gwathmey Award is given each year during the Alumnae Association annual meeting to an alumna who demonstrates superior skills in fundraising.
    An all girls boarding and day school in Southern Virginia, Chatham Hall prepares girls for college and for productive lives. Our innovative academic program offers Advanced Placement courses, global study and travel, as well as project based learning. Our athletic teams regularly compete at the State level and our exceptional riding program is nationally recognized. We foster the intellect and character of each student and, through our Honor Code, live in a community of trust. Grounded in its Episcopal heritage, the school welcomes students of all faiths and backgrounds.  
    800 Chatham Hall Circle | Chatham, VA 24531 | 434.432.2941 | admission@chathamhall.org